Projects
Greater Eurasia

One of the reasons for the growing mistrust in the world is the degradation of the international dialogue at all levels – from interstate relations to expert communities.

Representatives of various countries find it increasingly more difficult today to find common language even in terms if notions. Great effort is needed to develop public diplomacy and create non-formal communication channels and platforms that would facilitate understanding and, eventually, foster cooperation on the basis of a better understanding. This is essential for young political leaders who are beginning to take important decisions today, and will head political movements, parties, corporations, and states tomorrow.

Project Goal

The Project “Perception of Greater Eurasia by the New Generation of Russian and Foreign Leaders” is a follow-up of the previous project “Russia as Seen by a New Generation of Foreign Leaders” (2019) and is aimed at developing public diplomacy among young (up to 40 years old) political leaders.

Russian and foreign policymakers and public figures will discuss the conception of Greater Eurasia and Russia’s role in the Eurasian partnership. By joint efforts they will be able  to build horizontal ties between themselves. This experience will facilitate the development of trustful dialogue on issues related to the development of Greater Eurasia.

Why Eurasia?

Eurasia is one of the most important regions of the Earth that determines the development of humankind. This is a multilingual, multiform and politically polycentric territory where the interests of leading actors of world politics intersect. Today Greater Eurasia transcends the geographical boundaries and demands a reliable and effective communication built on respect and trust.

Where and When

The Great Eurasia project was launched in January 2020 and will last till June 2020 inclusive. The venue of the project events is Moscow.

Project Participants

The project participants include 15 Russian and 15 foreign leaders from Europe and Asia. They are young representatives of political parties, public associations, non-governmental organizations, and analytical centers chosen in cooperation with our long-standing partner, The Centre for Liberal Strategies (Sofia, Bulgaria).

Project Partners

  • The Centre for Liberal Strategies (Sofia, Bulgaria);
  • The RF Ministry of Economic Development;
  • The Faculty of World Economy and International Relations of the National Research University–Higher School of Economics;
  • The RF Ministry of Foreign Affairs;
  • The Federation Council of the RF Federal Assembly.

Project Stages

1. A workshop for foreign participants

Leading Russian experts in international affairs, political scientists and representatives of civil society will present before the audience their vision of the prospects of the Greater Eurasia integration project, of international cooperation within its framework and of Russia’s role – conceptual, political and economic – in it.

2. Political Training game “Projecting Greater Eurasia: Awareness of Common Interests”

The game is intended to develop a comprehensive view of the strategic goals of international cooperation within the framework of Greater Eurasia, practice various models of interaction and ways to maintain dialogue; understand the logic, motifs and interests of the countries and peoples of Greater Eurasia. The course and the end results of the game will be discussed with a group of experts in order to formulate a conception of international interaction within the framework of Greater Eurasia for IR political scientists, students and policymakers (“The Road to Greater Eurasia’).

3. Non-formal meetings of foreign participants with Russian statesmen.

Planned Results

The Project will result in the publication of a collection of analytical materials “Greater Eurasia as Seen by New Generations”, which will summarize the views of the new generation of public and political leaders of Russia, Europe and Asia on the pressing problems of international relations and global security. The collection of materials will include “The Road to Greater Eurasia” conception.  

To follow the Project, see the websites svop.ru and globalaffairs.ru, as well as social network sources Телеграм, Facebook, Твиттер. Analytical materials will also be published in Russia in Global Affairs.

If you have any questions or feedback, contact us at: [email protected].

More
School for Scholars

Several years ago we came up against a problem: young authors having certain expertise in the subject they study cannot put it in a comprehensive and interesting text form. So, editors have to either refuse promising authors to publish their articles, or rewrite them.

Project Goal

We decided to invest our effort in training young foreign policy scientists in writing appropriate texts in various genres. In 2016, editors of Russia in Global Affairs and a team of specialists from the National Research University-Higher School of Economics (NRU-HSE) launched a “School for Scholars.” Since then the School has been admitting all those wishing to develop their skills of analytical writing and receive knowledge from merited professionals in this field.

Initially, the School trained students in writing texts on different subjects, but as it gained more experience it changed the format of training and now organizes courses dealing with one specific problem. For example, the 2018-2019 course was devoted to Russia’s turn to the East, while the 2019-2020 course is designed to train those students who are interested in the analysis if military-political issues. This approach ensures a more targeted high-quality training of researchers who have already decided on their profession and line of future activity.

The curriculum of each course works on a “1+1” principle: one master class given by an expert in one line of training plus one practice (skill-building) class at which the students can use the received theoretical knowledge in writing texts of different genres. The major part of master classes and skill-building sessions take place at the premises of the NRU-HSE Faculty of World Economy and International Relations.

More detailed information about the “School for Scholars” is available at: https://school.globalaffairs.ru/

Subscribe to our project in Facebook and Вконтакте.

More

Проекты
Большая Евразия

Одна из причин нарастания недоверия в мире – деградация международного диалога на всех уровнях от межгосударственного до профессионально-экспертного. Представителям разных стран всё сложнее находить общий язык даже на уровне основополагающих понятий. Требуются серьёзные усилия по развитию общественной дипломатии, созданию неформальных коммуникационных каналов и площадок, которые способствовали бы пониманию, а затем развитию сотрудничества на основе этого понимания. Это тем более важно для молодых политических лидеров, которые уже сегодня начинают принимать серьёзные решения, а завтра возглавят политические движения, партии, корпорации и государства.

Цель проекта

Проект «Большая Евразия в восприятии нового поколения российских и зарубежных лидеров» стал продолжением проекта«Россия глазами зарубежных лидеров нового поколения» (2019 г.) и нацелен на развитие общественной дипломатии среди молодых (до 40 лет) политических лидеров.

Российские и зарубежные политики и общественные деятели обсудят концепцию Большой Евразии, роль России в евразийском партнёрстве и посредством совместной работы смогут выстроить горизонтальные связи между собой. Всё это будет способствовать развитию доверительного диалога по вопросам устройства Большой Евразии.

Почему Евразия?

Евразия – один из важнейших регионов Земли, определяющих развитие человечества. Это многоязычная, многоукладная, политически полицентричная территория, где сосредоточены интересы ведущих акторов мировой политики. Большая Евразия выходит за пределы географических границ региона и требует надёжной и эффективной коммуникации, выстроенной на уважении и доверии.

Где и когда

Проект стартовал в январе и продлится по июнь 2020 года включительно. Место проведения мероприятий – Москва.

Участники проекта

Участники – 15 российских и 15 зарубежных политических лидеров из Европы и Азии. Это молодые представители политических партий, общественных объединений, неправительственных организаций, аналитических центров, отобранные в сотрудничестве с традиционным партнёром – «Центром либеральных стратегий» (София, Болгария).

Партнёры проекта

  • Центр либеральных стратегий (г. София);
  • Министерство экономического развития РФ;
  • Факультет мировой экономики и мировой политики НИУ «Высшая школа экономики»;
  • Министерство иностранных дел Российской Федерации;
  • Совет Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации.

Этапы проекта

1. Семинар для зарубежных участников

Ведущие отечественные эксперты-международники, политологи, представители гражданского общества знакомят аудиторию со своим видением перспектив «Большой Евразии», международного сотрудничества в рамках этого интеграционного проекта и роли России в нем – идейной, политической, экономической.

2. Политическая тренинг-игра «Проектирование Большой Евразии: осознавая общие интересы»

Цель игры – выработать комплексный взгляд на стратегические задачи международного сотрудничества в рамках Большой Евразии; отработать различные модели взаимодействия и способы ведения диалога; понять логику, мотивы и интересы стран и народов Большой Евразии. Ход и итоги игры будут обсуждаться с группой экспертов, на основе чего планируется сформулировать концепцию международного взаимодействия в рамках Большой Евразии для специалистов-международников, студентов, политиков («Дорога в Большую Евразию»).

3. Неформальные встречи зарубежных участников с российскими государственными деятелями

Что в итоге

По итогам будет подготовлен сборник аналитических материалов «Большая Евразия в восприятии новых поколений», обобщающий взгляды нового поколения общественно-политических лидеров России, Европы и Азии на насущные проблемы наших взаимоотношений и международной безопасности. В сборник войдет концепция «Путь в Большую Евразию».

За развитием проекта вы можете следить на сайтах svop.ru, globalaffairs.ru и в социальных сетях: Телеграм, Вконтакте, Facebook, Твиттер. Аналитические материалы также будут опубликованы в журнале «Россия в глобальной политике». Если у вас есть вопросы, пишите нам: [email protected].

Подробнее
Школа «Учи учёного»

Несколько лет назад мы столкнулись с проблемой. Молодые авторы, эксперты неплохо разбираются в своей теме, но написать понятный и интересный текст не могут. Поэтому редактор либо вынужден отказывать перспективным авторам в публикации, либо переписывать их рукописи.

Цель проекта

Мы решили попытаться внести посильный вклад в обучение молодых учёных-международников, научить их писать хорошие тексты в разных жанрах. В 2016 г. журнал «Россия в глобальной политике» и НИУ ВШЭ придумали Школу «Учи учёного». С тех пор Школа ежегодно набирает желающих развивать навыки аналитического письма и получать знания от заслуженных на этом поприще экспертов.

Изначально в Школе учили писать тексты на самые разные темы. Но с учётом накопленного опыта Школа изменила формат и в последние два года организует курсы в рамках какой-то одной проблематики. Например, занятия 2018–2019 гг. были посвящены повороту России на Восток, а курс 2019–2020 гг. разработан для тех, кому интересна военно-политическая аналитика. Это помогает более качественно и адресно работать непосредственно с теми, кто уже определился с профессией и выбрал направление своей дальнейшей деятельности.

Программа каждого курса разработана по принципу «1+1»: один мастер-класс от эксперта по одному из направлений подготовки плюс одно практическое занятие, где ученики используют полученную теоретическую информацию для написания текстов разных жанров. Большая часть мастер-классов и практических занятий проходит на базе факультета Мировой экономики и мировой политики НИУ ВШЭ.

Подробнее о проекте можно почитать на сайте Школы «Учи учёного». Подписывайтесь на нас в социальных сетях: Facebook, Вконтакте.

Подробнее